To Steal a Heart

Buy
  • Share

Copy and paste the below script into your own website or blog to embed this book.

In a dazzling historical romance that’s perfect for fans of Sabrina Jeffries, Lisa Kleypas, and Courtney Milan, debut author K. C. Bateman brings Napoleonic France to life as a master spy and a beautiful thief find love and intrigue in each other’s arms.

Forced to do the bidding of a corrupt government minister, Marianne de Bonnard agrees to plant incriminating evidence in the offices of France’s most notorious spymaster. Under cover of night, the tightrope-walking thief puts her skills to good use—until her aerial stunt is foiled when her target appears in the window and, with consummate poise, helps Marianne off the wire and into his lair. The tremors that run through her body are not just from fear; there’s an unwanted frisson of desire there, too. But is it because of her elegant, wickedly handsome host . . . or his proposition?

Nicolas Valette has had plans for his graceful trespasser since he witnessed her unique skills at the Cirque Olympique. Sinuous as a cat, Marianne is perfect for his next mission, but she refuses his generous offer for fear of disobeying her family’s tormenter. When their mutual enemy auctions off her virginity to the highest bidder, Nicolas leaps at the chance to purchase her cooperation. Keeping her will be like trying to tame a wild animal, but what’s life without a little risk? Besides, Nicolas and Marianne both want the same thing: revenge—and, perhaps, something else that’s equally delicious.

Praise for To Steal a Heart

“[To Steal a Heart] is rich with espionage and suspense. Multidimensional believable characters and fast-paced plotting propel the story forward to its moving conclusion.”Publishers Weekly

“The writing and characterization are superb, the romance is hot, snarky and tender and the hero is delicious. I couldn’t ask for much more in an historical romance and I’m eagerly awaiting whatever Ms. Bateman comes up with next.”—All About Romance

“The sexual chemistry between the two built so steadily that I thought I would go up in flames if they didn’t stop battling each other and give in to their needs.”—Kilts and Swords

“A very impressive debut . . . highly recommended.”—Two Ends of the Pen

“A memorable entry into the world of historical romance . . . Secret agents and steamy sensuality join forces and ignite the pages.”—Jenerated Reviews

Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

- About the author -

K. C. Bateman is the author of To Steal a Heart, A Raven’s Heart, and A Counterfeit Heart. She’s also the co-founder and director of Bateman’s Auctioneers, a fine art and antiques auction house in the United Kingdom. She currently lives in Illinois with her husband and children, but returns to England regularly to appear as an antiques expert on several popular BBC television shows, each of which reaches up to 2.5 million viewers.

More from K. C. Bateman

To Steal a Heart

Buy

To Steal a Heart

— Published by Loveswept —