B&N Bookseller Picks: July

New & Noteworthy in Romance

Barnes & Noble buyer Jules Herbert is a driving force behind the selection in Barnes & Noble’s romance section. Here’s his list of recommendations for the month of July. Make sure to check out this list before jetting off on vacation or gearing up for that cross country drive.

Sign up for The Smitten Word.
Romance delivered straight to your inbox every Tuesday.

 

01

Beautiful Tempest

Johanna Lindsey

#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey returns to her beloved Malory family series with this sparkling romantic adventure, demonstrating that her “signature blend of witty writing, charmingly unique characters, and a sexy love story continues to be irresistible” (Booklist).
 
Get swept away to the dazzling Caribbean and the romance of Regency London in this witty and sensual follow-up to Stormy Persuasion. Returning to England after her steamy adventure in the Caribbean with smuggler Nathan Tremayne, Jacqueline Malory refuses to divulge to her family what exactly happened while on board his ship. Yet no one can deny that she clearly still has passionate feelings for the swashbuckling pirate. And no one expects that he will arrive in London to pursue her again—or that her father, James, plans on settling an old score with the pirate who orchestrated his daughter’s kidnapping. With her ability to make “readers believe dreams do come true” (RT Book Reviews), Johanna Lindsey crafts another masterful and engaging romance, perfect for fans of Judith McNaught and Julie Garwood.
 
(Gallery Books, July 11)

02

Don't Tempt Me

Lori Foster

Love comes along when it's least wanted
 
Jason Guthrie has no time for entanglements—between helping out his widowed brother and teenage nephew and getting his hometown back on its feet, his days are spoken for. But his nights are another story… And when his lovely new neighbor, Honor Brown, reluctantly accepts his help in remodeling her house, Jason finds himself wishing his handyman skills could knock down the defenses she keeps building around herself.
 
Martial arts teacher Sullivan Dean knows real danger when he sees it—even when it takes the form of the gorgeous blonde helping her friend move in across the street. After putting his wayward past behind him to focus on teaching control to troubled kids, Sullivan has learned to avoid party girls like Lexie Perkins. But Sullivan can't seem to keep his hands off the real woman behind that flirty charm—or keep his heart from landing at her feet . . .
 
(Harlequin, June 27)

03

First Star I See Tonight

Susan Elizabeth Phillips

A star quarterback and a feisty detective play for keeps in this sporty, sexy, sassy novel—a long-awaited new entry in the beloved, award-winning, New York Times bestselling author’s fan-favorite Chicago Stars football series.
 
(HarperCollins, June 27)

04

Lost and Found Sisters

Jill Shalvis

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.
 
(HarperCollins, June 20)

05

A New Leash on Love

Debbie Burns

First in a fresh contemporary romance series from award-winning debut author Debbie Burns.
 
Every heart has a forever home.
 
Megan Anderson loves the animals at her no-kill shelter. She'll do anything for them—even go toe-to-toe with a handsome man who's in way over his head. She'll help him sort out his troubles, but getting too close to an adorable puppy's human counterpart? Been there, done that, got burned.
 
When Craig Williams arrived at the local shelter for help, he didn't expect a fiery young woman to blaze into his life. But the more time they spend together, the more he realizes it's not just animals Megan is adept at saving—she could be the one to rescue his heart.
 
Soon, Craig and Megan find that the magic of unconditional love can do anything...even lead to their forever home.
 
(Sourcebooks, July 4)

06

Primrose Lane

Debbie Mason

Love is the best medicine
 
Olivia Davenport has finally gotten her life back together. She's left her painful past behind, started over in a new town, and become Harmony Harbor's most sought-after event planner. But her past catches up to her when Olivia learns that she's now guardian of her ex's young daughter. With her world spinning, Olivia must reconcile her old life with her new one. And she doesn't have time for her new next door neighbor, no matter how handsome he is.
 
Olivia may act like she's got everything under control, but Dr. Finn Gallagher knows a person in over her head when he sees one. He'd really like to be the shoulder she leans on, but Olivia makes it clear she doesn't want his help. Since he's returned to town, his waiting room has been full of single women feigning illness. Yet the one woman he's interested in is avoiding him. But with a little help from some matchmaking widows and a precocious little girl, Finn might just win Olivia over.
 
(Grand Central, June 27)

07

Some Kind of Hero

Suzanne Brockmann

The Troubleshooters return in the latest thriller from New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann! Some Kind of Hero showcases Brockmann’s signature white-knuckle suspense, romantic twists, and sexy Navy SEALs.
 
Navy men don’t come tougher than Lieutenant Peter Greene. Every day he whips hotshot SEAL wannabes into elite fighters. So why can’t he handle one fifteen-year-old girl? His ex’s death left him a single dad overnight, and very unprepared. Though he can’t relate to an angsty teen, he can at least keep Maddie safe—until the day she disappears. Though Pete’s lacking in fatherly intuition, his instinct for detecting danger is razor sharp. Maddie’s in trouble. Now he needs the Troubleshooters team at his back, along with an unconventional ally.
 
Romance writer Shayla Whitman never expected to be drawn into a real-world thriller—or to meet a hero who makes her pulse pound. Action on the page is one thing. Actually living it is another story. Shay’s not as bold as her heroines, but she’s a mother. She sees the panic in her new neighbor’s usually fearless blue eyes—and knows there’s no greater terror for a parent than having a child at risk. It’s an ordeal Shay won’t let Pete face alone. She’s no highly trained operative, but she’s smart, resourceful, and knows what makes teenagers tick.
 
Still, working alongside Peter has its own perils—like letting the heat between them rise out of control. Intimate emotions could mean dangerous, even deadly, consequences for their mission. No matter what, they must be on top of their game, and playing for keeps . . . or else Pete’s daughter may be gone for good.
 
(Random House, July 11)

08

A Stardance Summer

Emily March

Return to the beloved small town of Eternity Springs in the newest installment of Emily March’s New York Times bestselling series with A Stardance Summer.
 
Sometimes the end of one road
 
Brick Callahan enjoys every minute of chaos at his campground, Stardance Ranch, especially after the Tornado Alleycats arrive for an extended summer stay. The members of the all-female glamorous camping club are primarily seniors—active and adventurous, friendly and fun. But when he discovers Liliana Howe frolicking with the glamping grannies in a late night skinny-dipping session, he fears he's in for a summer of trouble. Because his best friend's kid sister has grown up to be drop-dead gorgeous.
 
. . .is the start of another
 
Betrayed by those she trusted, Lili decides she's put her career first for too long. She sells her practical sedan, buys a travel trailer, and heads to Eternity Springs for a summer of rest, relaxation, and reassessment as the newest member of the Alleycats. The last person she expects to find running an RV resort is her high school crush. Their undeniable mutual attraction is a reminder that life is full of surprises. But when the past comes calling, will their summer romance stand the test of time?
 
(St. Martin's Press, June 27)

09

Three Weeks with a Princess

Vanessa Kelly

In Vanessa Kelly’s captivating series, three young women are descended from royalty—in the most improper way. But that doesn’t stop them from pursuing lives rich in adventure. . .
 
Lia Kincaid, illegitimate daughter of the Duke of York, comes from a long line of notorious women. Raised by her grandmother, formerly mistress to the late Marquess of Lendale, she has little hope of a respectable marriage. But the new marquess, her childhood friend, Jack Easton, would make a very desirable protector . . . if he weren’t too honorable to take her to bed.
 
It’s bad enough being saddled with a title he never desired. Now Jack must resist the beautiful woman he desires far too much. Duty calls, and he is duty-bound to choose a wealthy bride. But then Lia makes another outrageous suggestion: asking Jack to devise some tests to find her the perfect paramour. Tests that involve flirting, kissing, and other pleasurable pursuits. Tests that, in a matter of weeks, could transform friendship into the ton’s greatest scandal, igniting a passion even duty can’t deny. . .
 
(Kensington, June 27)

10

Wired

Julie Garwood

A beautiful computer hacker and a bad-boy FBI agent must collaborate—in more ways than one—in the sizzling new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Julie Garwood.
 
Allison Trent doesn’t look like a hacker. In fact, when she’s not in college working on her degree, she models on the side. But behind her gorgeous face is a brilliant mind for computers and her real love is writing—and hacking—code. Her dream is to write a new security program that could revolutionize the tech industry.
 
Hotshot FBI agent Liam Scott has a problem: a leak deep within his own department. He needs the skills of a top-notch hacker to work on a highly sensitive project: to secretly break into the FBI servers and find out who the traitor is. But he can’t use one of his own. He finds the perfect candidate in Allison. Only, there’s one problem—she wants nothing to do with his job and turns him down flat.
 
What Liam doesn’t know is that Allison is hiding secrets that she doesn’t want the FBI to uncover. But Liam will do nearly anything to persuade her to join his team, even break a few rules if that’s what it takes. A temptation that could put his job—and both of their futures—on the line...
 
(Penguin, July 4)