Get Cozy Again

Books to fall for, cuddle with, and share

When the days get shorter, the air gets brisker and snow starts to be more than a twinkle in Mother Nature’s eye, there’s nothing better than curling up indoors with a good book. Here are 17 reads to help you embrace, escape, and enjoy fall and winter.

01

Tricky Twenty-Two

Janet Evanovich

Something big is brewing in Trenton, N.J., and it could blow at any minute. Take advantage of cozy evenings by diving into the newest Stephanie Plum adventure from Janet Evanovich.

02

The new movie is just around the corner, but waiting is hard! Aftermath: Star Wars is the perfect way to fill the gap. The story of what happened just after Star Wars: Return of the Jedi, Aftermath: Star Wars forms the journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

03

My Kitchen Year

Ruth Reichl

Get into the swing of cooking and baking season with Ruth Reichl! Part cookbook, part memoir, part paean to the household gods, My Kitchen Year may be Ruth Reichl’s most stirring book yet—one that reveals a refreshingly vulnerable side of the world’s most famous food editor as she shares treasured recipes to be returned to again and again and again.

04

The Official A Game of Thrones Coloring Book

George R. R. Martin

ALL MEN MUST DRAW. The perfect gift for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones, The Official A Game of Thrones Coloring Book is also a great way to spend a winter's evening.

05

The Official Outlander Coloring Book

Diana Gabaldon

Likewise, for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander novels and the Starz original series, this spectacular coloring book features forty-five all-new illustrations! From the lush green of the Scottish Highlands to the military red of a British soldier’s coat or the vibrant hues of a tartan kilt, the colorful world of Claire Beauchamp Randall and Jamie Fraser is now yours to explore.

06

The approach of the new year is always a good time for self-reflection and thinking about ways to redefine how we live. With moving personal stories, individual action plans, and a broad outline for change, Anne-Marie Slaughter reveals a future in which all of us can finally finish the business of equality for women and men, work and family.

07

Continuing in the vein of self-reflection, for readers of Proof of Heaven, this is the astonishing story of a woman with an extraordinary psychic gift—and a powerful message from the Other Side that can help us to live more beautifully in the here and now.

08

Destiny and Power

Jon Meacham

While presidential campaigns for 2016 are heating up, it's interesting to take a look back. In this brilliant biography, Jon Meacham, the Pulitzer Prize–winning author, chronicles the life of George Herbert Walker Bush. Drawing on President Bush’s personal diaries, on the diaries of his wife, Barbara, and on extraordinary access to the forty-first president and his family, Meacham paints an intimate and surprising portrait of an intensely private man who led the nation through tumultuous times.

09

The outspoken actress, talk show host, and reality television star offers up a no-holds-barred memoir, including an eye-opening insider account of her tumultuous and heart-wrenching thirty-year-plus association with the Church of Scientology. This is a memoir designed to reveal the hard-won truths of a life lived honestly—from an author unafraid of the consequences.

10

The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip

George Saunders

The holidays are a time for thankfulness and goodwill. From the bestselling author of Tenth of December comes a splendid new edition of his acclaimed collaboration with the illustrator behind The Stinky Cheese Man and James and the Giant Peach! Featuring fifty-two haunting and hilarious images, The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip is a modern fable for people of all ages that touches on the power of kindness, generosity, compassion, and community.

11

A great gift idea for those interested in science and exploration, this book tells the story of how the world’s top scientists searched for the “missing” planet Vulcan, whose existence was mandated by Isaac Newton’s theories of gravity. Countless hours were spent on the hunt for the elusive orb, and some of the era’s most skilled astronomers even claimed to have found it. There was just one problem: It was never there.

12

Sometimes the best way to handle cold weather and darker evenings is to escape to a warmer, sunnier place. As the weather cools down, escape to the warmth of Africa in Paula McLain’s bestselling novel Circling the Sun, which brings to life a fearless and captivating woman—Beryl Markham, a record-setting aviator caught up in a passionate love triangle with safari hunter Denys Finch Hatton and Karen Blixen, who as Isak Dinesen wrote the classic memoir Out of Africa.

13

Love Style Life

Garance Dore

Learn to style the perfect scarf for bundling up this winter! “The guardian of all style” (The New York Times Magazine) shares stories on life, love, style, and career, from Paris to New York, and inspires readers to cultivate an effortless chic that is all their own.

14

A Christmas Escape

Anne Perry

A suspenseful holiday mystery! For countless readers, Christmastime means a delicious new holiday mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry. A Christmas Escape, her thirteenth noel to the season, transports us to the Mediterranean island of Stromboli for an unconventional Yuletide adventure—and an unforgettable volcanic encounter.

15

The Cocktail Party

Mary Giuliani

Tis also the season for parties! When A-listers want to host a standout event, they call New York caterer Mary Giuliani. Her motto? Eat. Drink. Play. Recover. She prefers a “simple yet special” approach to entertaining but still manages to make the ordinary extraordinary. In The Cocktail Party, Mary shares all her secrets, along with tried-and-true planning tips, inventive menus, whimsical recipes, and delicious stories—everything you need to know to get your ducks in a row—and your pigs in their blankets!

16

A Very Nantucket Christmas

Nancy Thayer

Celebrate the holidays with New York Times bestselling author Nancy Thayer in this festive collection featuring two heartwarming tales set on Nantucket island: A Nantucket Christmas and An Island Christmas. Holiday cheer—and the power of love—must overcome family arguments, devious plans, and unexpected surprises in these enchanting Christmas stories.

17

Spending the Holidays with People I Want to Punch in the Throat

Jen Mann

Sometimes “cheer” is not exactly the emotion generated by the holiday season. In this hilariously irreverent collection of essays, Jen Mann, nationally bestselling author of People I Want to Punch in the Throat, turns her mordant wit on the holidays. From hosting an ill-fated Chinese New Year party, to receiving horrible gifts from her husband on Mother’s Day, to reluctantly telling her son the truth about the Easter Bunny, Mann knows the challenge of navigating the holidays while keeping her sanity intact.