Random House Partnership with Amtrak

Congratulations to our featured authors!

Exclusive Partnership Features Fiction and Nonfiction on In-Train Entertainment Platform

 

Amtrak Acela Express passengers will have access to a selection of bestselling fiction and nonfiction from Penguin Random House, the exclusive book content partner for the launch of the newly redesigned AmtrakConnect® onboard Wi-Fi page. Acela Express customers using the Amtrak service between Boston and Washington, D.C., via New York and Philadelphia, will now be able to read more than twenty free excerpts from a variety of genres across all Penguin Random House’s adult imprints.

 

Readers will be able to preview excerpts from bestselling titles such as Gray Mountain by John Grisham, The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, Believer by David Axelrod, Ruby by Cynthia Bond (an Oprah Book Club 2.0 Pick), Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling, Wild by Cheryl Strayed, and others. Each excerpt will include buy buttons to enable customers to purchase any of the available titles from a variety of retailers directly, while onboard.

 

In the coming months, this program will be rolled out on all Northeast Regional trains that are Wi-Fi enabled, connecting every Amtrak rider directly with Penguin Random House books. As well, audiobook content will be included for listening pleasure. The partnership will continue throughout the year, with updated selections as the titles publish.

 

Here are the Random House books featured in the first round:

The chase is on in New York Times bestselling author Rita Mae Brown’s gripping new foxhunting mystery, featuring the irrepressible “Sister” Jane Arnold and the wily antics of her four-legged friends. In Let Sleeping Dogs Lie, a century-old crime reawakens bad will—and stirs up a scandal that chills Sister to the bone.

Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles are back—and they’re going into the wild to find a killer. Die Again is the latest heart-pounding thriller in Tess Gerritsen’s bestselling series, the inspiration behind TNT’s hit show Rizzoli & Isles.

Fans of Everything I Never Told You and The Girl on the Train will devour this page-turning literary debut about a harrowing coming-of-age and a marriage under siege from O. Henry Prize winner Jan Ellison.

In this thrilling new novel from the author of Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen again demonstrates her talent for creating spellbinding period pieces. At the Water’s Edge is a gripping and poignant love story about a privileged young woman’s awakening as she experiences the devastation of World War II in a tiny village in the Scottish Highlands.

Not That Kind of Girl

Lena Dunham

In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told.

The acclaimed author of The Other Wes Moore continues his inspirational quest for a meaningful life and shares the powerful lessons—about self-discovery, service, and risk-taking—that led him to a new definition of success for our times.

Creativity, Inc.

Ed Catmull

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Forbes raves that Creativity, Inc. “just might be the best business book ever written.”

The Power of Habit

Charles Duhigg

In The Power of Habit, Pulitzer Prize–winning business reporter Charles Duhigg takes us to the thrilling edge of scientific discoveries that explain why habits exist and how they can be changed. Distilling vast amounts of information into engrossing narratives that take us from the boardrooms of Procter & Gamble to the sidelines of the NFL to the front lines of the civil rights movement, Duhigg presents a whole new understanding of human nature and its potential.

The Sweet Spot shows us how to

• say “no” strategically and when to say “yes” with abandon
• make decisions about routine things once to free our minds to focus on higher priorities
• stop multitasking and gain efficiency
• “take recess” in sync with the brain’s need for rest
• use technology in ways that bolster, instead of sap, energy
• increase our ratio of positive to negative emotions

Do the KIND Thing

Daniel Lubetzky

For the socially conscious reader of Blake Mycoskie’s Start Something That Matters, Tony Hsieh’s Delivering Happiness, and Howard Schultz’s Onward comes an inspiring handbook for success in business, life, and the all-important task of building a more compassionate world—by the visionary CEO of KIND Healthy Snacks.