Book Club Love

12 picks your reading group will thank you for

Every book-clubber and reading group member has been there: you just finished an engaging, life-changing, heart-wrenching book that drummed discussion into the wee hours and revived everyone’s faith in humanity.  Now you have to pick the next title. Luckily, Reader’s Circle has you covered.  Here are 12 books that your book club is sure to love from cover to cover!

01

The Same Sky is the timeliest book you will read this year—a wrenching, honest, painstakingly researched novel that puts a human face to the story of undocumented youth desperately seeking their dreams in America. This one’s going to haunt me for a long time—and it’s going to define the brilliant Amanda Eyre Ward as a leading author of socially conscious fiction.”—Jodi Picoult

02

Glitter and Glue

Kelly Corrigan

“I loved this book, I was moved by this book, and now I will share this book with my own mother—along with my renewed appreciation for certain debts of love that can never be repaid.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love

03

The Day We Met

Rowan Coleman

“Rowan Coleman’s heartbreaking, humorous novel about a family in crisis vividly reminded me of the fierce, resilient core in all kinds of love. Readers of Lisa Genova’s Still Alice and Elin Hilderbrand’s Beautiful Day will especially savor this book.”—Nancy Thayer

04

China Dolls

Lisa See

“This is one of those stories I’ve always wanted to tell, but Lisa See beat me to it, and she did it better than I ever could. Bravo! Here’s a roaring standing ovation for this heartwarming journey into the glittering golden age of Chinese nightclubs.”—Jamie Ford, author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

05

Remember Me Like This

Bret Anthony Johnston

“Enthralling . . . [an] exquisitely moral mystery of how we struggle to accept and love the people we call family.”—The New York Times Book Review (editor’s choice)

06

Life Drawing

Robin Black

Life Drawing is a tour de force, a taut, suspenseful story so beautifully written that it took my breath away.”—Christina Baker Kline, author of Orphan Train

07

Lucky Us

Amy Bloom

Lucky Us is a remarkable accomplishment. One waits a long time for a novel of this scope and dimension, replete with surgically drawn characters, a mix of comedy and tragedy that borders on the miraculous, and sentences that should be in a sentence museum. Amy Bloom is a treasure.”—Michael Cunningham, author of The Hours

08

“Rachman clearly has Dickens in mind as inspiration for this sprawling tale of an orphan cast out onto the world and belatedly investigating the mystery of her origins. . . . Its pleasures are almost architectural. . . . You may come to admire, as I did, the precision of its observations, as well as its intricate form and the way stray plot pieces eventually snap into place.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR

09

The Story of Us

Dani Atkins

For fans of David Nicholls’s One Day and Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot, here’s a page-turning novel about a young woman who is torn between two men, and who must determine where—and with whom—her future lies.

10

The Virgin's Daughter

Laura Andersen

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin’s Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question, What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir?

11

The Secrets She Keeps

Deb Caletti

“Deb Caletti doesn’t just make a stunning debut into adult fiction, she throws down the gauntlet. It’s a mesmerizing novel.”—New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen, on He's Gone

12

“[Susan] Vreeland’s love of painters and painting, her meticulous research and the pitch-perfect descriptive talents that distinguished such books as Girl in Hyacinth Blue and Luncheon of the Boating Party are abundantly evident in her new novel.”—The Washington Post