Random House Publishing Group

Random House

The Random House imprint was founded in 1927 by Bennett Cerf and Donald Klopfer. The mission, as Cerf put it, was simple, humble, and beautifully open-ended: to publish “a few books, on the side, at random.” Random House would go on to publish more than a few books on the side. In fact, it would publish the first U.S. edition of Ulysses in 1934; become a cherished home to Maya Angelou, Truman Capote, Eudora Welty, Pearl S. Buck, William Faulkner, Edmund Morris, and many, many others; and publish authors who would win the Nobel Prize, the Pulitzer Prize, and the National Book Award. Today, Random House remains as dedicated as ever to a diverse and far-ranging list of fiction and nonfiction, one that is bound only by our commitment to the highest quality and the size of our authors’ imaginations. Welcome and thank you for reading.

Twitter Facebook Pinterest

Random House Books

Connect with the Random House imprint

Random House Publishing Group