Between a Rock and a Hard Place

A Potting Shed Mystery

Buy eBook
  • Share

Copy and paste the below script into your own website or blog to embed this book.

Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton or Susan Wittig Albert, the Potting Shed Mystery series from bestselling author Marty Wingate heads to Scotland as Pru Parke plans her wedding . . . all while a vengeful murderer is poised to strike again. 
 
After her romantic idyll with the debonair Detective Chief Inspector Christopher Pearse culminates in a marriage proposal, Pru Parke sets about arranging their nuptials while diving into a short-term gig at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. At hand is the authentication of a journal purportedly penned by eighteenth-century botanist and explorer Archibald Menzies. Compared to the chaos of wedding planning, studying the journal is an agreeable task . . . that is, until a search for a missing cat leads to the discovery of a dead body: One of Pru’s colleagues has been conked on the head with a rock and dumped from a bridge into the Water of Leith.
 
Pru can’t help wondering if the murder has something to do with the Menzies diary. Is the killer covering up a forgery? Among the police’s many suspects are a fallen aristocrat turned furniture maker, Pru’s overly solicitous assistant, even Pru herself. Now, in the midst of sheer torture by the likes of flamboyant wedding dress designers and eccentric church organists, Pru must also uncover the work of a sly murderer—unless this bride wants to walk down the aisle in handcuffs.

Marty Wingate’s captivating mysteries can be enjoyed together or separately, in any order:
 
The Potting Shed series: THE GARDEN PLOT | THE RED BOOK OF PRIMROSE HOUSE | BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE | THE SKELETON GARDEN | THE BLUEBONNET BETRAYAL | BEST-LAID PLANTS
 
The Birds of a Feather series: THE RHYME OF THE MAGPIE | EMPTY NEST | EVERY TRICK IN THE ROOK | FAREWELL, MY CUCKOO

Praise for Between a Rock and a Hard Place
 
“Pru Parke is one of my favorite cozy mystery heroines.”—Michelle’s Romantic Tangle
 
“If you enjoy cozies and gardening this is a great series for you.”—Babs Book Bistro
 
Between a Rock and a Hard Place is a really fun read with a really good murder mystery. Plus there’s a catnap, a great ending, and a wedding! Who doesn’t love a wedding?”—Jane Reads
 
“The story will keep you captivated and intrigued right to the last page.”—Shelley’s Book Case
 
Between a Rock and a Hard Place, the Potting Shed mysteries as a whole . . . and, okay, anything written by Marty Wingate are on my list of favorites. And I’m leaving space on that shelf for her next novels.”—Back Porchervations

- About the author -

Marty Wingate is the USA Today bestselling author of the Birds of a Feather mysteries and the Potting Shed mysteries. Wingate is a regular contributor to Country Gardens and other magazines. She also leads gardening tours throughout England, Scotland, Ireland, France, and North America. More Birds of a Feather and Potting Shed mysteries are planned.

More from Marty Wingate

Between a Rock and a Hard Place

A Potting Shed Mystery

Between a Rock and a Hard Place

— Published by Alibi —